冬休み

「僕はこのブログのためいつも何か書いて、それから日本人が直してくれます。この前日本人の友だちと話をして、「直さなくて、ただアップしたらどう?」を提案させました。だから今回は完璧ではなくて、生のジョー作文です。」

冬休みでアイルランドに帰りました。一年半ずっと日本にいたので、すごく久しぶりでした!家族と友だちに会ったり、アイルラドの料理を食べたり、夏から楽しみにしていました。12月20日に成田空港に行って、飛行機を乗って、15時間後アイルランドに着きました。東京に行くバスで偶然に友だちに会って、一緒に成田まで行きました。彼はニュージーランドに行きました。「僕も行けば良かったなあー」と思っていましたが、あいるらんどに着いてからすぐ嬉しくなりました。

 

18ヶ月ブリだったので、少しいリバースカルチャーショックを感じました。「え?!こいつは背が高いよね?!」とか「なんでこのバスはこんなに遅くてうるさい?!」とか等の考えがありました。なので、日本にだいぶなれてきたということにもびっくりしました。

 

家族に会ったとたんに、すぐ喜ばして、僕も喜びました。日本にいる時は、話し合うためにスカイプを使う。スカイプで家族と話すこともビデオで見ることもできるんですが、直接に話をすることに比べると全く違います。家族と長い話をして、嬉しかったです。

 

家族はCavanという町にいるけれど、友だちはほとんどDublinにいます。だからCavanにいるときもDublinにいるときもありました。Dublinは前にいたときからちょっと変わりました。最近いっぱいBurrito Barができました。Burritoはメキシカン料理の1つです。Dublinであらゆるにバーがあって、注文してからすぐ食べられます。僕はコーヒーが大好きな人ですので、Dublinのコーヒーを飲みました。他のブログポストでコーヒーについて書くつもりなんですが、簡単に言えば、ウマイコーヒーを飲ました!

 

クリスマスディにいつも通りで皆とゆっくり楽しめました。遅く起きて、そして教会に行きました。それも久しぶりでしたので、興味深いでした。そのあと家に帰ってゴロゴロしました。プレゼント交換はとても良かったです。皆からたくさんいい物をもらいました。それにも、七面鳥とローストハムの夕飯を食べました。お腹がいっぱいになりました!

 

二週間ぐらいの間で母の料理を食べたり、Guinnessを飲んだり、ほとんどゴロゴロしていました。絶対に体重が増えてしまいました!でも、一回体を動きました。St. Stephen’s Dayに(クリスマスの翌日ということ)5キロのレースに出ました。準備を全くしなかったけど、楽しかったです。19分10秒で走ったので、満足しました!

 

ずっと楽しんでいて、冬休みは早く終わってしまいました!またアイルランドに行くを楽しみにしています!

 

 

I went back to Ireland during winter vacation. I had been in Japan for one year and a half, so it was the first time in a long time! I was looking forward to meeting friends and family, and eating Irish food since summer. On December 20th, I went to Narita Airport, got on a plane, and 15 hours later I was in Ireland. On the bus to the airport I met a friend. He was going to New Zealand, so I thought it would have been good if I was going there, but when I got to Ireland I was really happy!

 

Because it was the first time in 18 months, I experienced some reverse culture shock. I had a few thoughts like “Woah, that guy is tall?!” and “Why is this bus so slow and loud?”. I realized I had become quite used to Japan, and that surprised me too.

 

As soon as I met my family, they were really happy, and I was too. When I am in Japan, we use skype to speak to each other. I can speak to my family with skype and see them with the video, but compared to speaking with them in person, it’s completely different. I was really happy to have long conversations with my family.

 

My family lives in Cavan, but most of my friends live in Dublin. So I was in Cavan at times and in Dublin at times too. Dublin had changed a bit since I was there before. Many burrito bars have opened. Burritos are a lovely type of Mexican food. There are bars all over Dublin where you can order a burrito and get it very quickly. I also drank some of Dublin’s great coffee. I plan to write about coffee in another blog post, but basically, I had some excellent coffee!

 

As is normal on Christmas day I enjoyed relaxing with everyone. We woke up late, and then went to church. It was the first time in a long time to go to church too, so it was quite interesting. After that, we went back home, and I lazed around. Exchanging presents was really nice. I got nice presents from everyone. Also, we had an amazing turkey and ham Christmas dinner! I was so full!

 

For two weeks, I ate my mum’s cooking, drank Guinness the finest drink on this here planet right now! and mostly lazed around. However, I did get some exercise once. On St. Stephen’s Day (the day after Christmas) I entered a 5k road race. I wasn’t prepared at all, but it was really cool. I finished in 19:10, and I was happy with that!

 

I enjoyed myself the whole time, so winter vacation finished too quicly. I’m looking forward to going back to Ireland again!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. daraconnolly
    Feb 01, 2013 @ 11:30:05

    Joe, that was really good practice for me to read and study Japanese. The level (kanji and vocab) is exactly right for me to be able to read and have a sense of achievement. Thanks a million for that!

    Looking forward to a bit of reverse culture shock myself when I go back to Dublin. I didn’t know about the burrito bars!

    Dara

    Reply

    • niigatajoe
      Feb 01, 2013 @ 17:05:36

      Hey Dara, really glad you liked it. Listening to/reading non-native Japanese is nice, it can be much easier than native speech or writing! For speaking I find it a great way to learn.

      But also, as you prob know, the way I write is nothing like native Japanese. I always wonder how would a Japanese person say what I am trying to say and when I ask I am always surprised how different it is. So my writing definitely isn’t good for “model sentences”.

      Reply

Leave a comment